“We are Kings”

I am king of the white seas
and the fields of wheat, great trees and cherry.
I fight because by honor I am forced
to protect the weak and tell the story.

I am king of the black fleas
and the barren fields of cemetery.
I fight because all history has coursed
me to fight the battle of no glory.

I am king of the lands of bright.
I’m no Alex, nor Arthur, nor Moses.
I am not freedom or salvation,
only the start of a road not yet taken.

I am king of the lands of night.
I’m no Kim Jong, nor Adolf, nor Genghis.
I am not bondage or damnation,
only the end of a road that has shaken.

I am king of the knights of yea,
the likes of Lancelot and Joan of Arc.
I do not serve Zeus or Poseidon, the clean.
I serve no hand but the hand of man.

I am king of the knights of nay,
the four horsemen ending the final spark.
I do not serve Mars or Hades, the obscene.
I serve no hand but the hand of man.

We are kings of the juxtaposition,
but we are kings of the thesaurus.
We fight the battle to see man’s mission,
but such goals will always abhor us.

We are kings fighting a war
that the great fates have equal scored.
We are kings forced to the floor,
for we are kings of the chessboard.

(c) 2012 by B.S. Meyers

This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

