Query Letters

So, here is my dilemma. I’ve read a ton of articles about writing query letters to literary agents and it seems like each one had a different idea of how you should format your query letters. What did you do? I would assume Times New Roman, Size 12 Font, but I’ve read it should be single spaced. Everything I have read says no more than a page. I’ve read that I need a hook, a synopsis and a bit about my writing history. I’ve also read I need to say why I am querying that particular agent, then do a hook and a synopsis and a bit about myself.

What did you do? Did it work? What didn’t work? Please comment and tell me!

This entry was posted in About Querying. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Query Letters

  1. Elaine says:

    I write the synopsis and query letter before I write anything else – I use it as the concentrated version of the plan. When I post the query I don’t tend to over personalise them because I’m fighting to keep the spaced-out – ;) – letter on one page.
    What do you think of when you hear, “the end of the world?” Vikings and America

    • B.S. Meyers says:

      Thanks!

      Vikings and America? There’s a book for you. If you wrote that, maybe people would finally understand that they discovered America, not Columbus.

Leave a Reply

